When I Finally Knew I Loved You

We knew each other for a few years. We interacted randomly throughout the school years, and more during baseball season, but that was it. We didn’t text ever, we never hung out. It was a once a year type of friendship. 

I never thought about you in a way that meant more than a friend. I was never attracted to you, even though I always thought you were “adorable.” Granted, I could’ve never been attracted to you because I always had a boyfriend. 

And then one day, everything changed. 

It was a typical game day. I was getting the concession stand ready, you were going to practice. The weather was perfect. You walked over to the concession stand for a drink, said hey to me, and my life hasn’t been the same since. 

You turned into a perfect human being. 

I began thinking about you all the time. 

I wanted to be around you. 

I wanted to talk to you. 

Suddenly, you became the only thing I could focus on. 

I was suddenly infatuated with you. I wanted to know everything there was to know about you. I was…

Obsessed, I guess you could say. 

Completely hooked. 

That day, I knew I had to make you mine. 

Day in and day out, I wondered what you thought about me. I couldn’t figure out how to approach the whole situation, so I relied on my friends. 

Hundreds of texts, hours of creeping, many pictures later, I dove in. 

Time went on and eventually our simple friendship turned into a constant flirt fest. Whenever we were around each other, there was never a dull moment. 

Flash forward to a few weeks from prom. I knew it was time to make my move…

This was it. 

I chunked a baseball at your head. And that baseball changed my life. 

Prom came, and by then I was already head over heels crazy about you. But that night, I knew I’d love you for the rest of my life. 

And honestly, the rest is history. 

Two years later and I wouldn’t change a thing about where we’ve ended up. 

I love you. Thank you for everything you’ve done over the last two years. Thank you for being the best boyfriend anyone could ever ask for. Thank you for being so much more than I deserve. 

I love you.  

    
   

Leave a Reply

