Why Growing Up With a Brother Made Me a Better Woman

One of the only men in this world I’ll ever trust is my brother. He’s basically my rock, my therapist, my best friend. 

He’s moved around a lot and each move is either further away from me or closer away. It’s always better when he’s back where he belongs in our good ole, washed up town. 

He understands me on a different level than anyone else, and I give him mad props because I’m a freaking hand full. 

Growing up with a brother has made me the woman I am today for many reasons, but there are a few important ones that really matter. 

Growing up with a brother has made me the woman I am today because he taught me not to take crap from anyone. He’s one to cut you off real quick when you don’t seem to change immature ways or you decide to pick fights just because. Because of him, I don’t put up with fights and stupid, immature people. 

Growing up with a brother has made me the woman I am today because he’s taught me who’s worth keep around. I don’t open up to people very well, and because of him he’s taught me how to let the right people in and that’s because we have to. 

Growing up with a brother has made me the woman I am today because he’s taught me to be strong-willed. He’s always done what he wanted, no matter who disapproved. I’ve learned to stop wanting the approval of everyone around me and just to do what makes me happy. 

There are so many reasons he’s made me the woman I am today, but the list would be endless. 

Having a brother growing up was truly a blessing because it’s allowed for an insight on the dumb boys I tend to surround myself with. He gives me the best fashion advice. He takes me to eat. He introduces me to awesome movies (Pretty Woman is now my fave). But it also sucks because man, that boy sure can beat me up. 

Thanks for being my therapist. 

And my rock. 

And my best friend. 

But most importantly, my brother. 

Leave a Reply

