Why It’s Okay to Be a Loner

I don’t have friends and I typically find myself alone. I’ve recently come to the conclusion though, I’m okay with that. 

When I say I’m alone, I’m not literally alone. I don’t have friends, but I do have people I go to.  I don’t spend every weekend at my “best friends” house watching movies and eating ice cream. I don’t constantly text a friend. But it doesn’t bother me at all. 

I have my boyfriend. I spend a lot of time walking the strip, catching the latest movies, drowning four wheelers, and being lazy around the house with him. I spend countless hours laughing at his dumb jokes or wrestling on the ground with him. So I’m not totally alone.

My best friend is my five-year old niece. I spend 98% of my time running around chasing her or walking through the woods to “Pennsilvinia.”

If I’m not with her, I spend Friday night, and Saturday night, and Sunday night…okay, let’s be honest, I probably spend six out of seven nights with my siblings. I couldn’t be happier than when I’m sitting around a table, eating something delicious, laughing my head off with the people who mean the most to me and the people who make me the happiest. 

It used to make me really sad knowing I don’t have anyone to rant to about stupid boys or school, but then it hit me. Why waste time on people who aren’t putting effort towards the friendship? Why put people before your family, or your relationship with God? Why put forth everything in a friendship when in the end, they’re more than likely not going to be your friend. 

It’s okay to be a loner. 

It’s okay to be happy when no one asks to go to the movies on a Friday night. 

It’s okay to not to miss the people who you planned your future weddings with. 

It’s okay to stop caring about people who stopped caring about you along time ago. 

It’s okay to not put up with people talking behind your back and pretending to be bffs with you to your face. 

It’s okay. 

As we’re going up, we learn life isn’t always easy and your best friend today might be your enemy tomorrow was. Growing up, you lose a lot of your childhood friend so. There may be no reason at all, except the fact that y’all grew up. It’s okay. 

I’m a loner and I’m okay with it because I’m done putting in effort where effort isn’t given back.

Leave a Reply

